All My Children: Friends & Lovers (An All My Children Fanfiction)

Introduction

After discovering their spouses’ (Amanda & David) in the throes of passion, a heartbroken Jake & Cara succumb to passion and spend the night together. Weeks later, Cara discovers she is pregnant with twins. Now that Jake is back with Amanda, will Cara tell Jake the truth or will he discover it on his own?
Other pairings: Kendall & Griffin (since Zack never came back), Ryan & Greenlee, Tad & Dixie, and a Tad & Cara friendship (who helps Cara with her decision).

Cast

Jake Martin: Ricky Paull Goldin
Cara Castillo: Lindsay Hartley
Dr. David Hayward: Vincent Irizarry
Amanda Dillon Martin: Chrishell Stause
Kendall Hart Slater: Alicia Minshew
Griffin Castillo: Jordi Vilasuso
Ryan Lavery: Cameron Mathison
Greenlee Smythe: Rebecca Budig
Tad Martin: Michael E. Knight
Dixie Cooney Martin: Cady McClain

Chapter 1

“Hey, Cara, how are you and David and Alisha?” Kendall asked, when she spotted her at the Pine Valley Hospital, where Cara worked as a doctor.

“Oh hi Kendall. We’re doing great. Couldn’t be happier.” Cara stated.

“That’s great.” Kendall said, looking relieved. She had heard a rumor that David was sleeping with Amanda, who was married to Jake Martin.

“How are you and my brother?” Cara asked her, spying the rock on Kendall’s finger.

“Griffin and I are awesome.” Kendall exclaimed. Kendall had succumbed to Griffin’s advances after her husband, Zack Slater, went missing action from a business trip for Cambias.

“Is there anything you want to announce?” Cara asked, still looking at the rock on Kendall’s finger.

“No.” Kendall said, then looking down at her hand. “Oh, it almost slipped my mind. I don’t know what is wrong with me.”

“Maybe you’re giddy with excitement.” Cara suggested.

“Maybe. “ Kendall agreed. “Anyway, Griffin proposed and I accepted.”

“Oh, that’s so awesome. I’m so happy for you two.” Cara said, congratulating her.

“I know you will make my brother happy.”

“Code red in Room 114!” was announced over the intercom.

“Oh, I’m sorry Kendall. Looks as if I have to go.” Cara said as she rushed off to room 114.

“Talk with you later.” Kendall called after Cara.

Kendall went home to her two boys, Spike and Ian.

Meanwhile, at the Pine Valley Inn. . .

“David, we can’t keep doing this.” Amanda told him after they had just made love.

“Amanda, I love you.” David told her. “I don’t think I can go a day without you in it.”

“But what about Jake and Cara?”

“I married Cara because she became pregnant with Alisha.” David stated.

“But I married Jake because I loved him.”

“Then why are you in bed with me?” David asked.

Amanda had to ask herself the same question. Why was she risking her marriage to Jake just to sneak behind his back and have a fling with David?

“Exactly why we can’t do this anymore.” Amanda said matter-of-factly.

“Okay, Amanda, if that’s what you want.” David said, as he got up and began to get dressed.

As David left the motel room, he was seen by Ryan and Greenlee who were having their own magical night at the same hotel.

Chapter 2

“Wonder what David is up to?” Ryan asked, as an amorous Greenlee pulled himself their suite.

“Who cares?” Greenlee said, as she nuzzled Ryan’s ear.

“Yeah, who cares!” as Ryan grabbed Greenlee and threw her on the bed, as the two lovers succumbed to passion.

But Jake was at the Pine Valley Inn on business when he also saw David come out of the suite he had seen Amanda go in.

“Jake?” a shocked Amanda asked, answering her suite door. “I’m glad you came.”

“Really?! What was David doing coming out of your suite?!” an irate Jake confronted Amanda when she answered her suite door.

“He wanted a visit with Trevor.” Amanda lied.

“Really? But Trevor isn’t even here.”

“We were making arrangements for a visit.” Amanda covered, as Jake looked at the rumpled sheets on the bed.

“You’re sleeping with him!” Jake raged.

“What? No!” Amanda tried to get Jake to calm down.

“I can’t believe you, Amanda! After all we’ve been through to be together!”

Jake turned around and walked out of the hotel suite.

“Jake, please! Come back!” Amanda called after him. “Please let me explain!”

Jake wasn’t in the mood to go home, so he went to Pine Valley Hospital to tell Cara.

“Cara.” Jake said when he found Cara in the doctor’s lounge trying to nap.

“What’s wrong, Jake?” Cara asked sensing Jake’s agitation.

“It’s our spouses!” Jake said with anger. “They’re having an affair!”

“No!” Cara exclaimed. “David wouldn’t do that!”

“But they did.” Jake told Cara.

“But why?” Cara asked confused. “What about Alisha?”

Jake just held her in his arms, still reeling from the realization himself. The embrace led to more as Jake and Cara’s kiss turned passionate from the anger they both felt at being betrayed as Jake led Cara to the twin cot and the two made love.

Chapter 3

David came into the doctor’s lounge to get a nap after surgery and didn’t expect to see Cara in the cot with Jake.

“So, are you comfy?” David said, as Jake jumped out of the cot at the sound of David’s voice.

“David?” Jake said, surprised to see David.

“A little comfy with my wife, Jake?” David said, a little miffed.

“You’re having an affair with Amanda and you’re mad at finding Jake and I together!”

Cara said, angrily before storming out of the doctor’s lounge.

“A little hypocritical, David?” Jake said, as he ran out after Cara, but was stopped by Amanda, who was there to surprise him with dinner she had made.

“Jake, I brought you dinner!” Amanda said, as Jake brushed her off.

“No time Amanda.” Jake said, ignoring her to go find Cara.

“What’s got into him?” Amanda asked as David came up behind her.

“They know about us.” David informed her.

“What?!” Amanda snarked at him. “You swore you would never tell Jake!”

“I didn’t tell them anything.” David said in defense. “I found the two of them together in a cot in the doctor’s lounge and they revealed that they knew about our affair.”

“What am I going to do now?” Amanda wailed at David. “What about little Trevor?”

“Hey, it’ll be okay.” David tried to reassure her with a kiss. “Now we can be together.”

“I gotta go.” Amanda said, hurt as she tossed Jake’s dinner at him.

Amanda couldn’t believe that Jake knew about her and David. She didn’t want to lose Jake. She loved him. David was just a mistake. She had to find Jake and explain.

Meanwhile, Cara had to see her brother, Griffin. She had nowhere to turn to and Griffin always had her back. She knew he and Kendall were celebrating their engagement, but she just had to see her brother.

“Hello, Kendall.” Cara said when Kendall answered her door. “I’m sorry to bother you and Griffin, but I really needed to see my brother.”

“Sure, come in.” Kendall said. “No problem.”

Kendall led Cara into the living room where Griffin was playing video games with Spike and Ian.

“Griffin?” Cara asked.

“Yeah, Cara, what is it Sis?”

“I’m in trouble.”

“What kind of trouble?”

“David is having an affair with Amanda.” Cara came out and said what was on her mind.

“I’m sorry, sis.” Griffin said trying to comfort Cara with a hug as he motioned to Kendall not to let Cara know they already knew.

“What are you two shaking your heads for?” Cara asked as she noticed out of the corner of her eye their nods.

“Nothing sis.” Griffin said, never able to keep a secret from his sister, who caught on to their quiet discussion.

“You two knew?!” Cara said hurt. “I’m the last to know about David and Amanda?”

Cara couldn’t believe that her brother and Kendall would keep such a secret from her. Unable to face the two of them, Cara ran out of Kendall’s house. Griffin tried to stop her, but Kendall held him back.

“Grif, just let her go. She needs time to be alone.”

Griffin realized Kendal was right, but he couldn’t shake the feeling that Cara was somehow in trouble.

Cara had just got to her apartment and let herself inside. She was so distraught she didn’t realize that it was unlocked. When she got in, the intruder who was still inside the apartment heard someone come in. Before Cara knew what was wrong, the intruder struck her from behind and hurriedly left the apartment before he was caught, as Cara slumped to the floor.

Chapter 4

“Did you get it?” David asked the thug he hired to spy on Cara.

“No.” the thug revealed to him.

“What?” David raged. “I paid you a lot of money and you failed!”

“She came home unexpectedly!” the thug tried to explain to angry David.

“Get it done! Tonight!” David threatened. “Or your dead!”

David walked away and to his job as chief of staff at Pine Valley Hospital.

Meanwhile, back at Cara’s hotel suite, Ryan and Greenlee come by to check on Cara.

“Cara?” Ryan said, knocking on her door. “It’s Ryan and Greenlee.”

Cara was just coming to after being hit on the head by the intruder when she heard Ryan call from outside her door.

“Help.” Cara whispered meekly trying to get Ryan and Greenlee’s attention.
Outside Cara’s suite. . .

“Ryan, maybe she’s not there?” Greenlee said, nudging his arm to leave.

“No. something’s not right.” Ryan said worried.

Ryan stepped back a bit and busted the door in, to find Cara lying on the floor.

“Cara?” Greenlee screamed, wondering if she was okay.

But Ryan saw Cara move and went to see how hurt she was.

“Cara, it’s Ryan and Greenlee. What happened?”

“Ow! My head hurts!” Cara said, rubbing her head.

“I don’t know?” Cara said, still rubbing her head. “I came home last night and then I blacked out.”

“You have a goose egg on your forehead.” Ryan said, rubbing her head. “Did you hit your head last night?”

“There was someone here in my suite when I got home last night?” Cara revealed. “He must have hit me before I blacked out?”

“We better get you to the hospital?” Ryan said, as he and Greenlee helped Cara to stand.

As Ryan and Greenlee took Cara to the hospital, the thug was standing outside Cara’s suite as they left. As soon as it was clear, the thug got in with the key card he stole from the front desk and managed to do what he was there to do.

Chapter 5

David made his way to Pine Valley Hospital to play the dutiful husband. He was sitting next to Cara when she started murmuring in her sleep.

“Jake, I have something to tell you.” David heard Cara say.

“Cara, it’s David.” David told a groggy Cara who was startled from her slumber.
“David?” Cara said, confused.

“You said you had some news?” David questioned her.

“News?” Cara asked instead.

“You said it while you were sleeping.”

“I don’t remember anything.” Cara lied, remembering her dream that she thought she was talking to Jake and was about to tell him about the pregnancy.

“Well, maybe it’s because of the concussion you got from being hit on the head?”

“Yeah, maybe.”

Cara was glad she didn’t tell David that she was pregnant with Jake’s child. It was bad enough to learn of his affair with Amanda. She didn’t want David knowing about her sleeping with Jake.

“Well, hun, I have to go to my office.” David said, making an excuse to rush off to see the thug he hired to sneak into Cara’s suite.

“Okay.” Cara said, glad that David was leaving.

As soon as he left, she took her cell from the bedside table and found Jake’s cell and pushed the button.

“Jake?” Cara asked when she heard his voice.

“What’s wrong, Cara?”

“I nearly blew it with David.”

“What do you mean, blew it?”

“I nearly told David I was pregnant.”

“What? How?”

“I was still asleep, dreaming I was talking to you about the pregnancy, and I thought I was telling you.”

“But you didn’t say anything?”

“No, David startled me and I woke up.”

“Whew!” Jake relaxed. “That was a close one.”

“I don’t know what David will do if he knows I’m having your baby?”

“I don’t want to know.” Jake said, “I think it’s best if we keep it a secret. . .for now.”

“Okay.” Cara agreed with Jake.

“I’ll be there to see you later, okay?”

“Okay. I’ll be waiting.”

Jake and Cara said their good byes and Cara settled back in her hospital bed and tried to sleep.

Meanwhile. . .David found his way to the meeting place on the pier he had told the thug to meet.
“Did do it?”

“Yes, sir. You should be able to see anything Cara does in her suite.” The thug informed David.

“Here you go.” David said, handing the thug his payment. “Now don’t let anyone see you in town.”

“I’m on my way out of town.” The thug reassured David.

David went back to his mansion and checked the surveillance equipment to see if it worked and waited for Cara to be released from the hospital.

Chapter 6

Cara was released from the hospital and David was there to take her home. Little did Cara know, that David was setting a trap to find out what his wife was up to.

“Darling.” David said as he came into Cara’s hospital room and kissed her.

“David.” Cara said shocked. “I didn’t expect you to take me home.”

“Well, I thought that was what you loved about me.” David replied. “That I’m full of surprises!”

“Yes, I do love your surprises.” Cara said. “It’s one thing that attracted me to you.”

“Well, shall we go now that you’ve been released from PVU?” David said extending his hand to her.

“Thank you, David.”

As David accompanied Cara home, Jake watched from the sidelines. He wished he could have intercepted and taken Cara home, but he couldn’t risk their affair. Or David finding out Cara was pregnant.

David and Cara got home. David was in an amorous mood (mainly to see where he and Cara was in their marriage) but Cara resisted.

“David, please, not now.” Cara told him. “I just got out of the hospital.”

“Babe, I thought you might need some lovin’.” David kept trying to be ‘loving.’

“I love your loving, but I’m just not in the mood. I just want to go upstairs and go to sleep.” Cara tried to put David off.

“OK, darling. You go upstairs. Get some rest.” David relented.

“Thank you, David.” Cara said, glad that she didn’t have to expose her pregnancy to him. She didn’t want David to know.

As Cara went upstairs to check on Alisha. She doted on Alisha. She missed her while she was in the hospital. She didn’t like that David had a handful of servants and nannies to care for Alisha. She wanted to be a mother to her daughter. Not a bunch of strangers, even though David claimed that he only wanted the best for his little girl.

While Cara was holding Alisha and feeding her, Carissa the nanny came upstairs to feed Alisha.

“Oh, I’m sorry, Miss Cara.” Carissa said. “I came up to feed Alisha.”

“Oh please, let me.” Cara pleaded.

“I’m sorry. I assumed you wanted to rest?” Carissa asked.

“I am resting. Alisha is my rest.” Cara said proudly.

“Very well then.” Carissa said handing the bottle to her.

As Cara fed Alisha, Carissa went downstairs was accosted by David.

“Carissa, I thought you went upstairs to feed Alisha?”

“I was, but Miss Hayward wanted to do it.”

“I hired you to do such details.” David said a little ired.

“But Miss Hayward insisted.”

“Very well, go get things ready for Alisha’s outing then. I’ll go see what’s up with my wife.” David ordered Carissa.

As Carissa went to get things ready for David and Alisha’s outing, David went upstairs to talk to his wife when he overheard her conversation with Jake, who had managed to get into the mansion without David seeing.

“So, David still doesn’t know your pregnant?”

“No, it’s alright. David doesn’t suspect a thing.” Cara told Jake.

“Good. we can’t risk David finding out that I’m the father.”

“I don’t want David to know either.” Cara said worriedly. “No telling what David would do if he knew he wasn’t the father because I slept with you after learning of his affair with Amanda.”

“And he might suspect that he could be the father.” Jake suggested.

“That’s true.” Cara agreed.

“Well, then we need to keep quiet. . .for now.” Jake told her.

Jake got a text on his cell from the hospital. “I’m sorry Cara, but I need to get to the hospital. There’s an emergency at PVU.”

As Jake gave Cara a kiss on the forehead before leaving, David hid so Jake wouldn’t see him hiding and know that he heard the whole conversation.

“So Cara is pregnant and thinks that Jake is the father.” David said to himself.

As Cara was looking lovingly down at Alisha, David came up from behind her.

“I thought you were resting?” David inquired.

“I just need to check on Alisha.” Cara replied.

“That’s why I have a nanny.” David explained. “So you can get the rest you need.”

“Please, David, I don’t get enough time with her.” Cara said sadly. “Not with all the servants and nannies at Alisha’s beck and call.”

“OK.” David said. “Just get some rest.”

As David left Cara alone with Alisha, he told himself, “Just don’t get to comfortable, Cara. Your little secret is going to come back to bite you in the @$$! I guarantee it!”

Chapter 7

Kendall was hit hard as her and Zack’s anniversary approached. As Kendall flashed to the memory a year ago of the letter she received telling her that Zack was dead after he failed to come back from a business trip, Kendall thought her life was over. But now, Griffin has proved to be a great friend as well as a real gentleman. She was looking forward to her night out with Griffin. That’s when Greenlee text her.

“Are you still bringing the boys over 2nite?”

“Yes.” Kendall text Greenlee back. “Can’t wait 2 C what Griffin has planned.”

“I’m glad UR getting UR life back. ” Greenlee text back.

“B over around 5.”

“C ya then.”

After messaging Greenlee, Kendall went to take a shower and get ready for her date with Griffin. It was going to be a great night.

Meanwhile, David had to postpone his outing with Alisha, and went to confront Jake about him and Cara. But instead, he found Jake and Cara in a compromising position.
“What the hell is going on?!” David said angrily.

“David?” Cara said surprised to find David at the hospital. “I thought you were with Alisha?”

“She’s with her nanny!” David said irked. “I had some unfinished business here at PVH!”

“Jake and I were just working.” Cara covered.

“In each other arms?!” David accused.

“I was just comforting Cara.” Jake defended Cara.

“By kissing my wife!” David spat at Jake.

“I’m sorry, David. It just happened.” Cara said innocently.

“So, you’re cheating on me?!”

“What about you and Amanda!” Cara threw out.

“Me and Amanda!” David said, this time defending himself. “You think I’m cheating on you with my ex?!”

“I saw you with her!”

“That’s right, David.” Jake offered. “We know all about your tryst with my wife.”

“Well, then let’s just get everything out in the open!” David said.

“What do you mean?” Cara said.

“I know that you’re pregnant and you think Jake is the father!” David threw it out there.

“How do you know that!” Cara asked.

“That doesn’t matter. I know and if you think you’re going to keep my children from me, you have another thing coming!” David threatened.

That’s when Amanda happened among the argument, “Who’s pregnant?”

“Amanda!” David said surprised. “It seems our spouses have been seeing each other, and to make matters worse, my wife is pregnant.”

“Cara, you’re pregnant!” Amanda replied to David’s response. “Is Jake the father?”

“I-I-I don’t know!” Cara said. “David could also be the father.”

“So, you’re screwing my husband?!” Amanda said bitterly.

“Well, you’re screwing mine!” Cara threw back the accusation.

“That’s a lie! I am not screwing David!” Amanda defended herself, knowing full well she did.

“This is far from over!” David continued his tirade. “If I’m the father of this baby, I will make sure I take it away, along with Alisha, Cara! There’s no way I will let Jake anywhere near my children!”

David left the two would-be lovers alone as Cara doubled over in pain. Jake grabbed her and put Cara on the examining table to have a look at her.

“I’m running some tests on the baby.” Jake told Cara.

Chapter 8

Cara laid in her hospital bed waiting for word from Jake about her baby. She just hoped the baby was okay. Jake came to give Cara the results of the tests Jake ran on the baby.

“Cara, I’m afraid I have some bad news about the baby.” Jake told Cara.

“What is it, Jake?” Cara said, bracing herself for whatever Jake had to tell her.

“The baby is in distress and needs to born now.”

“But it’s too early?” Cara feared for her baby.

“It will be okay.” Jake said, doing his best to reassure her. “We’re monitoring the fetus for any signs of distress now.

As Jake hooked Cara up to machines to monitor the baby, David came in and immediately took over.

“I’ll take over, Jake.” David said, pushing him away.

“David, I don’t….” Cara said, but she lost consciousness.

“David, what are you doing?!” Jake demanded.

“I’m taking over!”

“You aren’t needed here!”

“I have the expertise to handle this situation! You can go now!” David told Jake.

As nurses and orderlies manhandled Jake to make him leave Cara’s room, David was left alone with Cara to monitor her and the baby.

“Everything is going to be okay. I’ll be taking over.” Jake said to an unconscious Cara.

Chapter 9

Jake waited in the waiting room while David monitored Cara and the baby. Tad arrived after Jake called him.

“Jake, what’s going on with Cara?” Tad asked, concerned.

“Cara had some pain in her stomach.” Jake explained to Tad. “I ran some tests on the baby and the baby is in distress.”

“Will Cara and the baby be okay?” Tad asked.

“It looks like the baby will be born early.”

“So, what are you doing out here?”

“David kicked me out of Cara’s room and took over.” Jake said, seething.

“Well, maybe it’s for the best.”

“How can you say that?”

“Well, you are the father. Maybe it is best if David were in there?”

“The only problem is….” Jake began.

“There’s a problem?”

“I may not be the father.” Jake told Tad. “David could still be the father.”

Back in Cara’s room, Cara woke up to find David in her room instead of Jake.

“Where’s Jake?” Cara asked David.

“I sent him out.” David told Cara.

“Why? I need him!” Cara spat at him.

“I’m taking over. I’m experienced in these things and can do a much better job.”

“I don’t care. I don’t want…..” Cara tried to say, but doubled over in pain from contractions.

“The baby’s coming. I can see his head.” David said as he got ready to deliver Cara’s baby.

A few minutes later, David laid Cara’s son on her chest. Cara smiled at her new son.

“Well, hello little one.” Cara said, but was interrupted when David took the baby away.

“Where are you taking him?” Cara asked David, as David left to put the baby in NICU to monitor his vitals.

Cara was left alone with the nurses to tend to her after delivering her son.

“Go bring Jake here!” Cara spat out at one of the nurses.

Chapter 10

“Dr. Martin, you’re wanted in Ms. Castillo’s room.” A nurse’s aide came out to tell Jake.

“Is she okay?” Jake asked the nurse’s aide.

“She had the baby and Dr. Hayward is monitoring the baby in NICU.” The nurse’s aide told him.

Jake went to Cara’s room immediately to see how she was doing.

“Cara, how are you doing?” Jake asked her with a peck on her cheek.

“Jake, you have to go see how he’s doing?” Cara pleaded with him, not able to take her mind off her son.

“Okay. Just relax and get some rest. I’ll go see what’s going on with the baby.”

Jake reassured her.

“David can’t take him from me.” Cara cried.

“Cara, he’s not taking her. The baby was born a little early. He needs to be monitored.” Jake told her.

“I know I should know that, but it’s different when it’s your baby.” Cara told him.

“Well, get some rest. I’ll go check on the baby.”

As Jake went to check on David and the baby, Cara tried to get some rest, but it was impossible. Her mind was on her son. She got up and put on a robe and walked out of her room. She had to see her baby for herself.

When she got to the NICU, she could see David arguing with Jake.

“David, how is the baby?” Jake asked him.

“He’s small, but stable.” David told Jake.

“Well, I want to be involved in taking care of the baby.”

“Sorry, Jake, but I’m the father so I will be handling everything.”

“You don’t know if you’re the father!” Jake told him.

“Well, then when the baby is stronger, there will be a paternity test done to find out.”

“Then until we know the truth, I want to be involved in matters considering this baby.” Jake told David.

They were interrupted by Cara who had come into the NICU when she seen them arguing.

“Who says you have the right to make decisions!” Cara spat out at them.

“Cara, what are you doing out of bed?” Jake said rushing to her side.

“I couldn’t sleep, so I decided to come see my son.”

As Jake rushed to her side, Cara collapsed in his arms as he took her back to her hospital bed.

“Yes, Jake, go back and be with my wife.” David said to himself. “That’s your place. My place is with my son.”

Jake sat with Cara until she woke up as he waited word from David about the baby.

Author’s note: I changed Cara having twins to Cara having just a baby boy.

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=tf_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=vlharvey42-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B0192CTMYG&asins=B0192CTMYG&linkId=498900097e1ebeac93e27b3d60ddba73&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true&price_color=333333&title_color=0066c0&bg_color=c232c7

About Soap Opera Fanfics n More

I am a 51-year-old divorced mother to a 21-year-old boy, who is engaged to a 52-year-old man from Canada who also has a 17-year-old boy. I am an avid soap opera watcher who loves to write soap opera fanfiction as well as my own stories. I am currently in progress writing and trying to get published my own creations.
This entry was posted in Fanfiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

